The fabulous life

Stand up in Romania

Posted in Geekesque, Rants by daianara on April 26, 2010

Ok, that’s all I can stand and I can stand no more (obvious pun).

I have a certain interest in stand-up. I watch it when I feel down and for 30′, 1 hour or more I can relax and laugh it all away. I think it’s one of the most wonderful things in the world: to be able to make others (and yourself) laugh and an awesome way to give back (yeah, you heard me). Going to an amateurs night someday/somewhere is definitely a plan. Also, I have a certain advantage. Just like you have to be black to do nigger jokes without fear you’ll get stabbed after the show, you gotta be a woman to mock women and not be called a misoginistic pig (we know a few cases).

It was first a crazy idea in my head. “Yeah, maybe, but right now I need to sleep/eat/read/scratch” kind of thing. It started to be more and more feasible after I saw this movie. Believe-The Eddie Izzard story shows how one of the most awesome comedians got to where he is now (filling up Webley stadium-11.000 seats-with his show). From his childhood in Yemen to his mom dying to being a street performer to being in a college competition against Hugh Laurie and Emma Thompson (oh, the irony! :lol:) to being booed off stage time and time again. And the most amazing thing? His perseverence*. Again and again he would go back and try to make things better. Why? Because of what he believed:

“You gotta believe you can be an actor before you can be an actor. You gotta believe you can be a comedianbefore you can be a comedian. You gotta believe you can be an astronaut before you can be an astronaut.”

Then I discovered Danny Bhoy.

This guy came out of nowhere. Did a great number and in 10 months of getting started he won the biggest stand-up competition in Britain. He then started touring Australia. And he’s young. Oh so very young. Just more proof anything can be done when you put your mind to it.

So, all beefed up and motivated to go out, sit in a pub and write I come across…a poster advertising openings in a stand-up group. Coincidence? Divine intervention? Who the fuck cares?! It was Monday, the audition was an Thursday and I finished preparing an act 2 hours before the deadline.

Here’s where reality came in. We’re a fairly crappy large city. About 350k of us. The bus stations were filled with posters to go to the audition. Who actually showed up were 9 people. 1 is the classical guy you see everywhere carrying a guitar after him and playing folk music to get the girls wet. Another was a girl dressed up as a clown (I shit you not) who wanted to do pantomime. The rest were girls coming there to look pretty, 2 drunk guys and another one who, at telling him it’s a stand up group, went like: Oh, stand-up? Oh, well that’s hard.  No shit Einstein! -_-

Then the actual members of the group came in. They wanted to do a show in mid May (current date being end of April) for which they had 2 ideas and absolutely nothing written. But they would definitely love to hear stuff from us. We could even email them. But just the guys of course. To which I go: Ahem, excuse me, WTF? Oh yeah (dismissive wave of hand) you can do it too if you’re interested. Let me remind you this was a stand up audition. Let me also point out that at going 360 around the room no one (except me) had prepared a thing. Because we all know stand up is based on looks. So ok, the evening is over, my dreams momentarily beaten to a pulp (name one female in Romanian stand up), I go to my favourite pub and at least get a free drink. Only to get home and stare at the email the auditioners send with what was expected of us.  Oh please don’t stop at the manele part. :lol:

PS: The overseas selection of female entertainers also leaves a bit to be desired. At least I loled after watching this one:

*The guy also ran 43 marathons in 51 days. How much more awesome can you get?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. xelomon said, on April 27, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    xel pats daianara over the shoulder and says: maybe you could start in small group of friends, perhaps put a little video here… AND kick the hell outta those pricks!

  2. daianara said, on April 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    A video? Hmm, I never actually considered that. One would need a camera one does not have. Or maybe the video from a photo camera/webcam would work. Yeah, that could be just IT! *goes away calculating Thanks Xel! :D

  3. mmuerte said, on April 28, 2010 at 6:28 am

    romanian stand up chick: Patricia Nedelea

  4. daianara said, on April 28, 2010 at 6:40 am

    Wow, I’m curious if I can find videos of her. Danke! :)

  5. daianara said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Just a very late random fact: this post was read by someone from Edinburgh. DANNY!!


Leave a Reply

