The fabulous life

A perfect circle

Posted in Café de la Musique by daianara on July 30, 2009

Dear Mr. Maynard,

 When I was first supplied with links for Tool songs, I watched about 2 minutes out of the 10 minutes videos and said that’s not for me. They were too weird, too loud, too far away from what I was used to. I just couldn’t get how Stinkfist was the perfect sex song.  Aeons later, I’m trying to make up for lost time and started out light with A perfect circle. I’m getting used to the songs, the little inflexions of your voice, the drums and the bass line. Not to mention the superb lyrics.

 I had a line-up of Mer de Noms, The 13th step and eMOTIVe. aMOTION was purposefully skipped for the moment as it’s just a remix album. So I’ve listened to the 3 others throughout the past week, without reading reviews before that could ruin the experience. And I’m glad I did that. I like 2 tracks of eMOTIVe but around the Internet it’s described as possessing  “the same musical integrity as urinating in a Pepsi bottle and throwing it at a basement wall.” Oh well, it is a cover album.

 So from the sea of awesomeness what really stood out for me were Blue, Passive, What’s going on and Magdalena. I like the first 2 songs so much I think they should be just one, with the intro from Blue and the lyrics from Passive.

Apart from that, “What’s going on” has one of the most beautiful growths/climaxes I’ve heard in a long while.  And Magdalena, well, just take a look at the lyrics:

 “I’ll sell my soul, my self esteem
a dollar at a time for one chance, one kiss
one taste of you my Magdalena.”

 I’m really starting to find that name fascinating.

So yesterday I also kicked off with Lateralus, prolly the loudest Tool album and guess what? I think it sounds great. So if you happen to be in a giving mood, they’re touring the US and Canada this year and I only need about 2000€ for a round trip. :D

 Until then I’ll leave you with “This song is called Fuck Britney Spears…in the ass”. *plays Passive

Tagged with: ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thecreatrix said, on July 31, 2009 at 9:27 am

    o, Doamne, ce engleza perfecta si ce post frumos.

  2. daianara said, on July 31, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Creatrixa, babe, mersi mult dar e departe de ce as fi vrut eu sa fie (plus ca n-am putut de nici un fel sa bag un video in post). L-am scos asa pentru ca n-am mai avut rabdare. :D
    Si e in engleza datorata vizitelor pe care le primesc pe celelalte posturi despre muzica. Macar sa stie lumea despre ce e vorba in propozitie.

  3. daianara said, on July 31, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    PS: Cypress, I know you’re lurking. FYI, I’m also listening to Cult of Luna, mwhahahaha. :P


Leave a Reply

